Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Review (SPOILERS)

img_0205
Harry Potter and Cursed Child! Magic.

I LOVE IT! End of review.

Just kidding.

I really did love it though. But I don’t think everyone will. I think you have to go in with an open mind and not expecting it to be an 8th book of the original series. First of all, it is a play, second of all the story follows a whole new set of characters (the children of the original characters). I read it as approved historical fan-fiction. And that approach worked really well for me. There were some parts that I think were out of character for some of the characters but nothing that sent me into a literary tailspin. Except for the trolley witch. I mean, what the heck? That was just weird.

I just wish it had been written in book form because then we would have gotten so much more story instead of just dialogue (because it’s a play, duh.) I would have loved to have even more of the friendship between Scorpius and Albus because it was so relatable. Plus, I ship them together for sure. I didn’t at first, but come on, they’re perfect. And there is some STRONG subtext going on. I’m okay with any other opinions though, ship who wish.

I wish Rose would have been in the story more. I think they tried to have her kind of like Hermione was when she was a kid but it came off kind of harsher. It would have been nice to get more of her character development, even though I understand that the main characters were Albus and Scorpius and a play can only have so many focus points. Like I said, I would have loved for it to be in a more narrative form, like the HP books, so we could get all the characters antics and personalities more. But that’s just me because I can’t let go of the Harry Potter world. And I never will. *insert evil cackle here*

My favorite scenes were the alternate universe ones. Seeing an alternate future where Umbridge was alive and the headmistress of Hogwarts? That was more terrifying than any parts with Voldemort. Because Umbridge is the real villain of the HP series. Seeing Snape die again was sad, even though I still have mixed feelings about him. The scenes between Cedric Diggory’s dad and Harry Potter were heartbreaking. Even though I kept yelling at the book, mainly at Albus, “You can’t change the past! Have you never seen any TV show that has time travel? Nothing good ever happens when you change the past!”

I want to see the play! Mainly because there were some scenes in the script where I thought to myself “what?! how are they going to do that on stage?” And by “scenes” I mean any/ all of the lake scenes. And the trolley witch part.

I hope everyone else enjoyed Harry Potter and the Cursed Child as much as I did! And if anyone has seen the play, I am very jealous.

P.S. J.K. Rowling released THREE new ebooks about Hogwarts on September 6th. Here’s the Buzzfeed article about it here.

*The magic is real*

harry-potter

Leave a Reply

