Happy Wednesday!

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme that was originally created by Lainey from GingerReadsLainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes. To find out more about this booktastic topic, visit the Goodreads group here!

This week’s topic is “Favorite Villains”.

I can’t think of any off the top of my head. Gah. I’ll have to review my book lists and come back to this…be right back…

Not gonna lie, this list was hard. It is hard for me to say “favorite” villain because that makes it seem like I like them, and I really hate these characters. But I will say that they are all evil, and very good at it. Some possible spoilers ahead, so beware.

  1. Goliath from The Thursday Next Series – they are a vile, opportunistic, overbearing and underhanded corporation who only have their own interests and money on their mind. Thursday is constantly battling them in one way or another throughout the series. They are a fantastic fictional (and exaggerated) example of evil corporate companies.
  2. Dorothy from the Dorothy Must Die series – she is straight power hungry, out of control. She is actually terrifying. I’ve talked about this series before, and I do love the switch up from Dorothy being the sweet and innocent Kansas girl to a gingham wearing nightmare.
  3. Count Olaf from A Series of Unfortunate Events – he is so evil. It is hard to say he is a favorite though, just because of how truly horrible he is to the Baudelaire children. He makes my skin crawl whenever he is in a scene. His true despicableness makes for a great character though.
  4. Ora from Stealing Snow – I was not expecting this twist! But I am interested to see how her character pans out in the sequels.
  5. Moriarty from Sherlock Holmes and Moriarty – I also love him from the BBC’s Sherlock. The character as a whole is amazing, set up as the opposite of Sherlock Holmes. They are both sides of the same coin. Genius, sociopaths, following different career baths.

My favorite villains from TV/movies, are 1. Moriarty from Sherlock, 2. Loki from Marvel, 3. Rumplestiltskin from Once Upon A Time 4. Agent Grant Ward from Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. 5. Hades from Hercules

Comment with your favorite villains and let me know if you agree with any of mine! Now go forth and read!

6 thoughts on “T5W – November 30 – Favorite Villains

  1. Before you explained “favorite” (& if we’re talking more than just books) I was going to say Regina b/c she’s pretty good at being evil but she’s also good at, well, trying to be good. I like her because she has depth.
    Same goes for characters like Draco Malfoy and Snape, who, when you see their inner conflict, some flash of conscience, it’s makes them so much more sympathetic than the heroes. I LOVE that; seeing the human behind the vendetta, the reason for the vengeance, however petty it may be perceived by the other characters in comparison to the villain’s vengeful acts.

    So basically I’m saying I like characters that are more than two dimensional, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

