Daily Prompt: Hopeful

via Daily Prompt: Hopeful

The beginning of a new year always makes me hopeful. I know it is cliche because it is just another day in a long succession of other days but there is still something special about changing over to a new year. I always start the new year feeling fresh and hopeful about what the next year will bring. I think a lot of people probably do. And I don’t think there is anything wrong with that. Second chances and fresh beginnings can feel awesome and be the push that someone needs to change something or better themselves.

People are probably too hopeful when it comes to New Year’s resolutions though. Myself included. I used to write vague resolutions like, workout more and eat healthier. I also wrote out long lists of all these things I want to change in the new year. I think I looked at the new year too hopefully, like I was able to reinvent myself at the stroke of midnight; which is wrong. I will still be the same person, but I can still accomplish things. This year I wrote a list of small things I want to accomplish, instead of change about myself. I am proud to say they are all manageable and achievable. This list fills me with hope for 2017.

fireworks

Leave a Reply

